Passover comes from the Bible, first mentioned in the book of Exodus. As God pronounced to the people of Israel enslaved in Egypt that he would free them, he said he would “Smite all the firstborn in the land of Egypt.” However, he instructed the Israelites to put a sign of lamb’s blood on their door posts: “and when I see the blood, I will pass over you.” (Exodus 12)
How to Celebrate Passover
This year Passover starts on Saturday night. Therefore, to maintain the sanctity of the Shabbat, certain things are done on the Thursday night or Friday before Passover which would ordinarily be done on the eve of Passover.
What is Chometz?
Chometz is any food and drink made from wheat, barley, rye, oats, spelt or their derivatives which is forbidden on Passover because it is leavened or fermented. If a food contains any of these intergradient and is not certified as “kosher for Passover”, it’s considered chometz. If a food contains even a trace of chometz, we don’t eat it, we don’t sell it and we make sure not to have any of it in our possession all the days of Passover. [Note: Matzah used all year-round is not for Passover use]. Only matzah bake especially for Passover may be sued on Passover.]